The Marian – Cover Reveal

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000037_00039]

Fifteen-year-old Ethan Denby doesn’t know how he got on the Marian. He just woke up one day inside the body of its captain.

The Marian is unlike any ship Ethan has ever seen. It crawls on long, metal legs over dunes of salt in search of water, despite laws granting exclusive harvesting rights to a corrupt organization known as HydroSystems Worldwide.

HydroSystems is closing in, tensions are mounting aboard the Marian, and on top of all that, Ethan is beginning to think the dreams he’s been having aren’t completely harmless. If he doesn’t get home soon, Ethan could die inside someone else’s body in this wasteland of a world. The only way back seems to be through a place known simply as the Cloud, but how can he convince the crew to take him there when it means confronting a dangerous cult and venturing into a place where the very fabric of reality has worn thin?


Get Free Stuff!

Enter to win a free copy a week before The Marian releases!
Download the first chapter for free!

If you buy The Marian in paperback form through Amazon, for the first month after the book releases, you can get the Kindle book for free through the Kindle Matchbook program!

Preorder it Now!

iTunes books
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords

Unfortunately, Amazon doesn’t offer preorders for indie books, but you can still get The Marian for 99 cents for the entire first month after it releases!


I am so unbelievably excited to finally share this story with you. The very beginnings of the idea first started bouncing around in my head while I was working on the rough draft of Alpha, so I’ve had a lot of time to pick at the edges of the story and the world it’s set in. This is going to be a wild ride, and I’m thrilled at the prospect of taking people along with me. The plan right now is for this to be a trilogy, though it could end up being only two books…or more. All I can tell you for sure is that the loose ends will be far from tied up at the end of The Marian.

Also! I need to brag on my cover designer – Denise Wy of Cover Atelier. I found her almost by accident, and I’m so glad I did. If you’re an indie author looking for good cover design, you need her cover on your book. She is head and shoulders above all the other cover designers who charge even remotely close to what she charges.

When I got in touch with Denise to start working on this cover, I had a pretty specific idea in mind. Unfortunately, the more we fleshed it out, the more I realized I’d had an idea that would never look cool when it was actually executed. So we went back to square one. I basically said “Forget everything I said. Here’s what the book’s about. Here’s the general tone. Here are a few important visual elements in the story. Do what you think would work best.”

Then she sent me two potential cover designs. They were both fantastic. I chose one and suggested some simple tweaks. She made the tweaks, and voila, I had the cover you see at the top of this post.

What’s crazy is all this happened in the span of two days.

I sent the first email on July 2. On the morning of July 3, we scrapped my original idea, and that evening, she sent me the two potential designs. On July 4, we had the final cover. I went back and checked our email history to make sure that’s true, because it still blows my mind how quickly Denise went from “let’s try something different” to two covers that would look right at home with the new releases at Barnes & Noble.

Cover Atelier, indie authors. Look her up.

So what’s next? I have a blog tour coming up, starting September 4, and it’ll run all the way up to release day on September 19. I have dates for that posted here. If you’re not familiar with blog tours, I’ll essentially be hopping around various book blogs around the web, doing interviews with the bloggers, writing guest posts, and answering questions from anyone who wants to interact in the blog comment sections. It’s going to be a blast, and I’d love to chat with you about the book on the tour.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you for now. Stay tuned for more info!

One thought on “The Marian – Cover Reveal

Leave a Reply

