Thank You For Popcorn

I really love children’s sermons. I’ve blogged about them before and tried to make a spiritual point, but even without all that serious stuff, they’re fun. The little kids are cute, they say funny things, and sometimes there’s one little guy who isn’t even paying attention because he’s busy making faces at someone in the congregation.

I remember one specific children’s sermon over thankfulness. After the woman finished giving her little speech on why we should always include times of thanksgiving in our prayer life, she had all the kids bow their heads and then suggested everyone thank Jesus for something. There were several prayers expressing thankfulness for Mommy and Daddy, for having a house, for Jesus dying on the cross…and then one kid totally stole the show.

“Dear Jesus, thank you for popcorn!”

The whole congregation broke out in laughter over that one, but to me it was a profound moment. It got me asking myself questions: When was the last time I thanked God for something like popcorn? Am I only grateful for the big things in my life? Why don’t I thank God for the way coffee tastes or the way music sounds?

Sometimes I get so caught up in thanking God for the big things – a job, a home, salvation – that I forget to thank him for the little things. Big things have a way of stealing the show. They become towering milestones that cast gigantic shadows over everything else that happens in our lives. But while it’s the big things that define the shape our lives take, it’s the little things that provide the colors.

And, quite frankly, I’m going to have a lot more little things than big things in my life to be thankful for. In fact, I have a whole cabinet full of microwave popcorn right now.

Question of the Week
What are the little things you thank God for?

2 thoughts on “Thank You For Popcorn

  1. I am thankful for music and hot water to shower in. I was reminded of that huge oversight this week! The list could go on…I am thankful for Jonathan Larson for writing RENT, for Jamie Grace for writing Hold Me, and for reruns since most new shows pale in comparison to the good ole’ days! 🙂

  2. I am in Lithuania right now… no car, no “normal” milk, no cell phone.

    I am thankful that I have 2 strong legs, I am thankful that I can try new food, and I am thankful that I get a break from the busyness of life.

Leave a Reply

