Religion for the clueless

I talked about this on the most recent episode of Jesus Freaks, and it wasn’t the first time I had a talkset with a similar message, so the fact that I’m writing a blog about it should show just how important I believe this point is. It may also show that I haven’t been satisfied with how I made the point by talking and that I want to try making the point in writing. Actually, that may be only like 10 percent of why I’m writing this blog. But enough of this vague rambling. The meat of my point is this:

Christianity is a religion for people who are essentially clueless.

I said something to this effect on the show, except it wasn’t quite this harshly worded. I felt like it still sounded a little offensive, but fortunately we didn’t get any angry phone calls. I must have covered my butt good enough with what I said afterward to show that I was not trying to say that Christians are idiots or anything like that.

Here’s what I was trying to say:

I tend to feel a lot of temptation as a Christian DJ and blogger to talk exclusively about things that I have the answer to. And I sincerely doubt I’m the only one who faces this temptation. Let’s face it – I look a lot better if I can turn on the mic or pull up a text window and say, “Okay, here’s something that I struggle with, but here’s the clear-cut solution that God has so graciously blessed me with.” It’s just so much prettier that way. It’s a nice, neat package with a tidy ribbon tying the whole thing together.

There’s nothing wrong with breaks and blogs like that. The problem is that’s often not the way my struggles play out. I’ve heard about a thousand reasons for why there is evil in a world created by an all-powerful, righteous God, and none of them are really all that satisfying. I’ve read Revelations a few times and heard several sermons on it, but I can still barely make out what’s going on. I still haven’t even found that fool-proof program that’ll keep me reading my Bible every day.

But that’s okay.

The Bible never says, “Make sure you’ve got your act together before you even think about talking to Jesus. He can’t be bothered with dirty sinners.” No. Jesus tells us, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” The Bible never tells us, “The only way God will ever let you in his house is if you know the difference between Premillennialism, Postmillennialism, and Amillennialism. And make sure you believe the right one.” Paul assures us that “if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”

There is no requirement for someone coming to Christ to be baggage-free. We are not called to have all the answers. In fact, if we were all-knowing and had no lasting emotional scars, would we really need Jesus?

I’m not trying to say we’re supposed to be content with our condition. As Christians, we are called to holiness. We are urged to learn all we can about this faith, working out this salvation “with fear and trembling.” But that stuff doesn’t come from us. It comes from the Holy Spirit. Because He knows all.

And we are clueless.

Leave a Reply

